A Strong Defense Against DUI Charges
Have you been arrested or charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Washington? DUI is a serious charge and can affect many aspects of your life. Aside from the criminal penalties, it can threaten your job, housing and educational opportunities. Many people assume there is no point in fighting their DUI charges, but that is simply not true. A skilled attorney will defend you against your charges and minimize the negative impact of DUI charges.
Attorney Dennis Schroader, can guide you through a DUI defense strategy and explain how the law will apply to your case. He will defend you and assist you in getting the best possible result.
We Take Your DUI Charge Seriously
Washington takes DUI offenses seriously, and so do we. Most drivers are charged with DUI if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Certain drivers have a lower threshold, however. For anyone under 21, the limit is .02% and for drivers with a commercial license, the limit is .04%. A DUI can also include driving with drugs in your system.
A DUI in Washington is subject to not just criminal penalties but administrative penalties as well. Possible penalties for a first offense include:
- Jail time – From 24 hours or 15 days of electronic home monitoring, up to 364 days
- Fines and fees – From $350 to $5,000
- Loss of license – 90-day suspension
You may also have to do an alcohol/drug assessment, and you could be on probation for five years. These penalties can go up if your BAC is .15% or more. Penalties also increase with multiple offenses. Those with five or more offenses in 10 years face felony charges.
What If You Refuse The Test?
Washington is an implied consent state. That means the state assumes you have consented to a BAC test as part of the conditions of having a driver’s license. If you refuse to consent to that test, you can lose your license for up to two years, although you may or may not face criminal charges for a DUI.